Sharing is caring!

(Educating and Creating Leaders)

The Jack Yates National Alumni Association (JYNAA) a 501c3 non profit

will host the 90th Anniversary Celebration for the historic Jack Yates

High School (located in the heart of Third Ward). What a monumental milestone

and something all citizens in the City of Houston, Harris County, the State and the Nation should be proud. The Theme for the Celebration weekend is “Building and Sustaining our Legacy One Brick at a Time”. Thousands of graduates, former administrators/teachers/coaches, friends and supporters

will join the Celebration.

A history journal of Jack Yates will be published consisting of Yates’ history,

Photos of past events ads from business, corporations, graduates and much

more. The journal will be distributed during the month of October 2016.

The 90th Anniversary Gala will be held on Saturday, June 14, 2016, 7:00 pm

at the Power Center, 12401 South Post Oak Road. Tickets are available at a

cost of only $50.00.

The 2nd Annual Edward B. “Doc” Evans Crimson and Gold on the Green Golf

Classic, Saturday, June 25, 2016, 1:00 pm., at Southwick Golf, Pearland, Texas.

Sunday, June 26, 2016, the Alumni will attend an“Old Fashion Worship Service” to be held at Antioch Missionary Baptist Church, the home of the

late Jack Yates. Other events are on the drawing board for the remaining six

months of the year.

The proceeds from the events will fund educational, literacy initiatives and

scholarships for deserving college-bound students. The JYNAA promotes and

funds programs that provide guidance and leadership direction for positive

change, seeking to make a positive difference within the lives of Jack Yates

High School and the Third Ward community.

The JYNAA officers are Reginald Phillips, President; Carolyn Scantlebury, Sr.

Vice President; Kathy Thompson, Recording Secretary; Amie Johnson, Corresponding Secretary; Anthony Stewarts, Sr., Treasurer; Stacy Rayon,

Financial Secretary; Dr. Pamela Boveland, Parliamentarian; Debra Smith-

Stevens, Sqt. at Arms; Redell Ellis, Historian; Sister Mama Sonya, Chaplin;

Fred Harris, Outreach; Pierce Lee Stewart, Sr., VP Government; Karolyn

Williams, VP Fundraising; John Smith, Jr., VP Public Relations; Deberah

Joseph, VP Student Director and Dr. Carolyn Evans Shabazz, VP Education.


The Board of Directors are Ralph Cooper, Santana Dotson, J. Robert Jones,

Dr. Robert McGee, Erskine Moorehead, Dr. Ronald Moon and Georgia


The dynamite 90th Anniversary Gala Committee is led by Debra Stevens-Smith,

serving as Chairperson, Dr. Pamela Boveland, Marie Celestine, Patricia Denkins, Dr. Carolyn-Evans-Shabazz, Amie Johnson, J. Robert Jones, Reggie

Phillips, Georgia Provost, Carolyn Scantleburg, Sister Momma Sonya, Anthony

Stewart, Kathy Thompson, Karolyn Williams, Sandra Auzene and Fred Harris.

For more information or to join one of the 90th Anniversary Committees, please

call Debra Smith-Stevens, Chair at (512) 663-4351.